Header title (h1) of the page

Real Botanicals and the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew

The Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew

Introducing The Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew! Nestled on the outskirts of London, it’s known internationally as a world leader in plant science. In fact, it is one of the most biodiverse places on earth, a UNESCO World Heritage Site and holds the key to unlocking the true potential of real botanicals for our lives today and our world tomorrow.
Every day, Kew scientists working in more than 115 countries across the globe use their botanical expertise to identify plants and study their uses. Kew’s unrivalled collections have around eight and a half million items, including seven million dried plants, 1.25 million dried fungi, a living collection of over 19,000 plant species and the world’s largest wild plant DNA and tissue bank. So now you can see why they’re true experts!
Every year nearly two million people make the trip to the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew and Wakehurst, Kew’s wild botanic garden in Sussex, to enjoy everything they have to offer and learn about why plants are so important to our lives.
Watch the documentary created by National Geographic, ‘Secrets of the Garden’

Exploring the gardens

At Kew, you’ll find 300 acres of incredible greenery and over 260 years of history, where scientists work year-round to unlock the secrets and potential of real botanicals.The iconic Temperate House is a ‘must’ to experience at Kew. It’s the world’s largest remaining Victorian glasshouse, protecting 10,000 rare and endangered plants from all over the world. Visually beautiful and lush, its pathways guide visitors around species of plants from Africa, Australia, New Zealand, the Americas, Asia and the Pacific Islands.
Other ‘must see’ features at Kew include the Palm House, a smaller but equally beautiful glasshouse containing a ‘rainforest’ of tropical plants, the Princess of Wales Conservatory, with its living display of aloes and the Arboretum, which has 14,000 trees and more than 2,000 species, covering every country and every continent in the world.
Whilst the public can enjoy these sublime gardens, behind the scenes the Herbarium is at the heart of the science at Kew. It contains an estimated seven million different dried plants samples that reflect the diversity of plants on Earth, a collection that is growing every year. When they are compared with current botanicals, these samples help Kew to understand plant evolution and conservation.

 

Seeds of the future…

Kew’s wild botanic garden at Wakehurst is also home to the hugely important Millennium Seed Bank. Set up in 2000, it is a global storage facility for wild endangered seeds and acts as a kind of ‘back-up plan’ for biodiversity, with more than 2 billion seeds stored there already which represents 10 per cent of the world’s plant diversity.
The idea behind the seed bank is that if needed, seeds can be provided to regenerate plant life in a given area of the world. This might happen in the event of a natural or man-made disaster or extreme climate change and means there is a way to make sure species don’t become extinct.
The seed bank also sends out over 1,000 samples each year to teams across the world carrying out research into human development.

Scientists hard at work

Incredibly, there are over 350 scientists and botanists working at Kew. Their research is wide ranging, from the discovery and identification of new species, to the impact of climate change on threatened habitats. They want to help people to understand the importance of plants and fungi and the role they play in protecting life on our planet, which is why they are so interested in plant evolution, diversity and conservation.
They know that by studying plant life and how it responds to outside factors like climate change and diseases, they can uncover the secret power of real botanicals within plants to help with everything from food, to medicine, clothing and fuel.

Plants have fingerprints, just like us!

Just like us, plants have their own fingerprints that help the scientists at Kew to ‘read’ their biological make up. This helps them to identify and authenticate the quality of botanicals in plants that are found in nature.
Using the fingerprint, scientists can understand the useful ingredients within the plant, advise on the perfect time to extract them and asses their quality, which is exactly what Kew scientists are doing to verify the quality of botanical ingredients in bottles of Herbal Essences bio:renew.

Kew’s Partnership with Herbal Essences

Herbal Essences is the first global hair care brand to be endorsed by Kew, a world-leading authority on plants and their importance in our lives.
Together, we celebrate beauty rooted in plant science and share a belief in the power of real botanicals. Herbal Essences continues to harness these to help women everywhere have healthy looking and vibrant hair.
With so much scientific knowledge, Kew is perfectly positioned to test and identify the botanical ingredients in the Herbal Essences bio:renew formula, which has 90 percent natural origin*. The bio:renew botanical blend contains Aloe, Sea Kelp and Histidine, a powerful anti-oxidant born from a plant, which has been found to protect hair at its core and help fight water impurities.
The identification by Kew means that consumers can be sure they are getting quality extracts in their Herbal Essences bio:renew shampoos and conditioners!

Watch the documentary created by National Geographic, 'Secrets of the Garden’, to find out more about what happens behind the scenes at Kew and the ground-breaking partnership with Herbal Essences.


*Purified water and natural-source ingredient materials with limited processing.

Kew، الحديقة النباتية الملكية التي تعرفكم على العالم الحقيقي للنباتات

Kew، الحديقة النباتية الملكية التي تعرفكم على العالم الحقيقي للنباتات

الحدائق النباتية الملكية ، Kew

تقع الحدائق النباتية الملكية، Kew على مشارف لندن، وهي معروفة كمركز عالمي رائد في عالم النبات. وهي في الواقع، تعتبر واحدة من أكثر الأماكن تنوعاً من الناحية البيولوجية على المستوى العالمي، وهي أحد المواقع المدرجة على لائحة التراث العالمي في منظمة اليونسكو، وتعتبر على قدر عال من الأهمية لناحية إطلاق الإمكانات الحقيقية لدور النباتات في حياتنا الحالية والمستقبلية.
يستخدم علماءKew ، العاملون في أكثر من 115 دولة حول العالم خبرتهم في مجال النبات لتحديد أهمية النباتات ودراسة إمكانات استخداماتها. وتحتوي مجموعات Kew الفريدة على حوالي ثمانية ملايين ونصف منتج، بما في ذلك سبعة ملايين من النباتات المجففة، و 1.25 مليون من الفطريات المجففة، ومجموعة حية تضم أكثر من 19000 نوع من النباتات وأكبر بنك للحمض النووي والأنسجة الخاصة بالنباتات البرية في العالم. من هنا يمكننا التأكد من الدور الرائد لهؤلاء الخبراء على المستوى العالمي!
يزور الحدائق النباتية الملكية، Kew وويكهورست الكائنة في منطة ساسكس، حوالي مليوني شخص بالسفر إلى الحدائق النباتية سنوياً، للاستمتاع بكل ما تقدمه من معلومات والتعرف على أهمية النباتات في حياتنا.
شاهد الفيلم الوثائقي الذي أنشرته ناشيونال جيوغرافيك، "أسرار الحديقة".

استكشاف الحدائق

توفر حديقة Kew 300 فدان من المساحات الخضراء المذهلة في تاريخ يعود لـ260 عاماً، حيث يعمل العلماء على مدار السنة لتعريف الزوار على الأسرار والإمكانات الحقيقية للنباتات. يعتبر Temperate House الأيقوني المكان الأهم الذي يجب زيارته في الحديقة، حيث يعتبر أكبر بيت زجاجي فيكتوري في العالم ، يحتوي على 10000 من النباتات النادرة والمهددة بالانقراض من جميع أنحاء العالم. تُعد مساراتها الجميلة متعة بصرية حقيقية، وبمثابة دليل للزوار للتعرف على أنواع النباتات من إفريقيا وأستراليا ونيوزيلندا والأمريكتين وآسيا وجزر المحيط الهادئ.
ومن الأماكن التي يجب زيارتها في حديقة Kew، Palm House ، وهو بيت زجاجي أصغر حجماً وبذات المشهد الجمالي، يحتوي على "غابة مطيرة" من النباتات الاستوائية، وPrincess of Wales Conservatory، الذي يعتبر معرضاً حياً للألواه فيرا والنباتات المختلفة، حيث يحتوي على 14000 شجرة وأكثر أكثر من 2000 نوع نباتي، من جميع بلدان وقارات العالم.
وفي حين يمكن للجمهور الاستمتاع بهذه الحدائق الرائعة، يعتبر Herbarium المركز العلمي الأهم في Kew، حيث يحتوي على حوالي سبعة ملايين عينة من النباتات المجففة التي تعكس تنوع النباتات على الأرض، وهي مجموعة يتم توسيعها سنوياً. وتساعد هذه العينات، عند مقارنتها بالنباتات الحالية، على فهم تطور النبات وحمايته وحفظه.

بذور المستقبل ...

تعد حديقة Kewالنباتية في ويكهورست بمثابة بنك الألفية لبذور النباتات الأكثر أهمية. أنشئ البنك عام 2000، وهو مرفق عالمي لتخزين بذور النباتات البرية المهددة بالانقراض، وهو بمثابة "خطة احتياطية" للتنوع البيولوجي ، مع تخزين أكثر من ملياري بذرة تمثل 10% من المشهد النباتي العالمي.
وتكمن الفكرة وراء بنك البذور، في تجديد الحياة النباتية في منطقة معينة من العالم، سواء في حالة حدوث كارثة طبيعية أو نتيجة النشاط البشري أو التغير المناخي الشديد للتأكد من عدم إنقراض أي نوع من أنواع النباتات.
كما يرسل بنك البذور أكثر من 1000 عينة كل عام إلى فرق مختلفة في جميع أنحاء العالم لإجراء البحوث في مجال التنمية البشرية.

جهود علمية هائلة

يعمل أكثر من 350 عالم وعالم نبات في كيو، حيث يجرون أبحاث واسعة النطاق، بدءاً من اكتشاف وتحديد أنواع جديدة من النباتات، إلى دراسة تأثير تغير المناخ على النباتات المهددة. ويهدف هؤلاء العلماء إلى مساعدة الناس على فهم أهمية النباتات والفطريات والدور الذي تلعبه في ضمان استمرارية الحياة على كوكبنا، وهذا هو السبب وراء إهتمامهم بتطور النبات وتنوعه وحفظه.
ويعكف العلماء على دراسة حياة النبات وكيفية استجابتها للعوامل الخارجية مثل تغير المناخ والأمراض، كما يمكنهم اكتشاف القوة السرية للنباتات الحقيقية في مجال التغذية والأدوية والأزياء ومصادر الطاقة.

بصمات نباتية مشابهة للبصمات للبشرية!

تماماً كالبشر تمتلك النباتات بصماتها الخاصة التي تساعد العلماء في Kew في التعرف على تركيبها البيولوجية، ما يساعد بالتالي على التحقق من جودة النباتات الموجودة في الطبيعة.
يمكن للعلماء باستخدام البصمات التعرف على المكونات المفيدة في النبات، وتقديم المشورة بشأن الوقت المثالي لاستخراجها وتقييم جودتها، وهو بالضبط ما يفعلونه للتحقق من جودة المكونات النباتية في عبوات هيربل اسنسز bio:renew.

تعاون Kew مع هيربل اسنسز

تعتبر هيربل اسنسز أول علامة تجارية عالمية للعناية بالشعر يتم اعتمادها من قِبل Kew ، وهي هيئة رائدة على مستوى العالم في مجال النباتات وأهميتها في حياتنا.
نحتفل معاً بالجمال المتأصل في علوم النبات ونتشارك الإيمان بفعالية النباتات، وتستمر هيربل اسنسز في تسخير هذه القدرات لمساعدة النساء حول العالم للحصول على شعر صحي ونابض بالحياة.
تعتبر حديقة Kew بفضل الخبرات العلمية والمعارف الواسعة، المركز المثالي لاختبار وتحديد المكونات النباتية في منتجات هيربل اسنسز bio:renew، التي تحتوي على مكونات طبيعية بنسبة 90%*. ويتكون المزيج النباتي الذي تتكون منه منتجات bio:renew من الأعشاب البحرية و الهستيدين، وهو مضاد فعال للأكسدة مستخرج من النباتات، يحمي الشعر ويساعد في التخلص من شوائب الماء.
يعتبر تحديد الهوية النباتية بواسطة Kew ، أمر هام لضمان حصول المستهلكين على منتجات الشامبو والبلسم عالية الجودة من هيربل اسنسز bio:renew !
شاهدوا الفيلم الوثائقي الذي أنتجته ناشيونال جيوغرافيك، "أسرار الحديقة"، لمعرفة المزيد حول ما يحدث وراء الكواليس في Kew والشراكة الرائدة مع هيربل اسنسز.


* مياه نقية ومكونات من مصادر طبيعية مع معالجة محدودة.